So, I have been told – over and over and over – the best way to prep yourself for raceday is to run several smaller races during your training. Since I’ve only been in one race [aside from high school track, which totally doesn’t count anymore] this seems like a logical step. But, my money and time are limited. So, I knew I would have to limit myself to the events around here. Lucky for me, Gainesville is a hubub of fitness freaks gurus, so there is no shortage of 5Ks, 10Ks, and other Ks to fulfill my running pleasure.

After comparing my availability and researching a little more on the events themselves, here looks to be the line up:

October 24, 2009: Trinity Trot 5K [possible]

October 31, 2009: Gainesville Pumpkin Run 5K [possible]
This race involves running holding a pumpkin. I’m a little skeptical.

December 13, 2009: Hogtown 10K

January 23, 2010: Newnan’s Lake 15K

What do you think? Is it too much? Too little? I’ll be honest here: I had to even look up the kilometer to miles conversion to figure out how these might fit into my race plan.

