Florida weather is, and probably always has been, one of my biggest obstacles. The heat. The humidity. Eleven months out of the year it is sweltering. Even last week I had an entire conversation with someone that walking outside in October in Florida felt a little like a sauna. The humidity was so thick you could slice it. You know, if you wanted to.

But today, yes today my friends, on my very first day of marathon training the weather opted to cooperate. Highs in the low 70s. Lows in the 50s. I went running at noon and it was delightful. Noon!!?!? That’s insane. Though my distance was negligible, today was indeed my day.

Distance: 2.00 miles
Time: 20-ish minutes
Weather: Lovely. 70s despite mid-day. Shockingly little humidity for Florida.
Tunes: Black Eyed Peas Let’s Get It Started
Obstacles: First run in a long, long, long, long, long, long, long – oh yeah did I mention long? – time.
Notes: It was short but sweet. Most important thought: don’t ever go that long without running again. Also, a few hours before the homecoming football game in a college town is perhaps not the best time to run. But, I’m afraid that is a topic worthy of a whole other post.

No map. This is my “regular run” just around to the corner and back. Nothing interesting to show here.

